IAP logo

This is the homepage of

Ulrike Diebold

Photo by David Rath

  • Phone: (+43 1) 58801 - 13425
  • email: ulrike.diebold@tuwien.ac.at
Professional Experience
Awards and Honors

2022 Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry FRCS
2021 International Honorary Member American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2020 Gerhard Ertl Lecture Award
2020 ERC Advanced Grant 'WatFun'
2019 Honorary Docotorate, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
2019 Science Prize of the City of Vienna
2019 Elected Member, Academia Europaea
2019 American Physical Society, Outstanding Referee
2018 Xing Da Lectureship, Peking University, Bejing, China
2018 Fresh Lecture, Leiden University, Netherlands Nanjing University, China
2016 Zhongshan Colloquium Nanjing University, China
2015 Elected Member German Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina
2015 Blaise Pascal Medal in Materials Science, European Academy of Sciences
2015 Debye Lecture, Utrecht University, Netherlands
2015 Erwin Schrödinger Memorial Lecture, Trinity College, Dublin
2015 25th Brdička Memorial Lecture, Heyrovský Institute of Physical Chemistry, Prague
2014 Elected Member,European Academy of Sciences
2014 Eminent Visitor Award, Catalysis Society of South Africa CATSA
2014 Elected Full Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences ÖAW
2013 Wittgenstein-Preis
2013 Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry, American Chemical Society
2012 Elected as a Corresponding Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
2012 European Research Council (ERC), Advanced Research Grant 'OxideSurfaces'
2008 Fellow, Research Center Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany
2008 Outstanding Researcher Award, Tulane’s School of Science and Engineering
2007 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
2006 Yahoo! Founder Chair in Science and Engineering
2005 Fellow, AVS – The Science and Technology Society
2005 Provost's Recognition Award for Research and Scholarly Achievement
2004 Tulane Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Research Award
2004 Fellow, American Physical Society
2003 National Science Foundation, “Special Creativity Award”
2001 Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Prize from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany
1998 Habilitation in “Experimental Physics”, Technische Universität Wien
1997 NSF CAREER Award
1995 Oak Ridge Associated Universities, Junior Faculty Enhancement Award
1992 “Charlotte Bühler Fellowship” for Habilitation from the Austrian Science Foundation” (not assumed)
1983, 1984, 1985 Fellowships for ‘Especially Talented Students’, Vienna University of Technology

Editorial Activities and Advisory Boards

2020 – 2021 Board of Reviewing Editors, Science
2019 – 2021 Editorial Board, Physical Review Research
2017 – 2019 Editorial Advisory Board, ACS Energy Letters
2013 – 2018 Member International Advisory Board, Advanced Materials Interfaces
2012 – 2017 Divisional Associate Editor (Materials Physics) Physical Review Letters
2017 – 2019 Advisory Board, ACS Energy Letters
2016 – Advisory Board, npj Quantum Materials
2010 – 2015 Advisory Editorial Board Surface Science
2009 – 2010 Reader Panel, Nature
2009 Guest Editor (together with T.M. Orlando), “Non-Thermal Processes on Surfaces. Dedicated to the Memory of Prof. Theodore E. Madey” Special Issue in J. Phys.: Cond. Matter
2007 – 2010 Advisory Editorial Board Open Journal of Physical Chemistry
2006 – 2007 Guest Editor (together with A. Selloni and C. Di Valentin), “Doping and Functionalization of Semiconducting Metal Oxides”, Special Issue in Chemical Physics
2006 – 2007 Surface, Interface and Atomic-Scale Science Editorial Board of Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter
2003 – Advisory Editorial Board Surface Science Reports


1986 Diplom Ingenieur in Engineering Physics (eq. MS)
1990 Ph.D. in Physics, both degrees from the University of Technology, Vienna, Austria; Advisor: Prof. Peter Varga
1998 Habilitation in Experimental Physics, University of Technology, Vienna, Austria;

Personal Background

Married to Gerhard Piringer, two sons (Thomas *1996 and Niklas *1999)

surface/group/diebold/index.txt · Last modified: 2023-01-08 17:52 by Ulrike Diebold